Awareness Ribbons Chart – Colors and Meanings of Awareness Ribbon Causes (From Disabled World)

Printable Awareness Ribbon Chart

via Awareness Ribbons Chart – Colors and Meanings of Awareness Ribbon Causes – Disabled World.

The website goes into much more detail, as well as noting extra conditions that are covered under each color/color combo. I’m thinking about doing all of the colors with each condition written on the ribbon in photoshop so that we can all save and post according ribbons if we want, without any confusion.

This search started, by the way, because a friend of mine from high school had posted a yellow ribbon as her facebook profile picture, and I wanted to know what cause she was representing, and the answer ranged from suicide awareness to bladder cancer to liver disease to supporting the troops. It wasn’t written on the ribbon, plus no clues were given via description, and that frustrates me. What’s the point if no one else knows what cause you are trying raise awareness for?

Anyhow, I will get around to that, but if illness interupts it could take some time. Hopefully I can make a resource page on this site where people can save a picture of the ribbon matching the condition(s) they have, to add to the bottom or sidebar of their page. And yes, when I do this, the first will be one for Chronic Pain all by itself, since many of us do not know why we are dealing with what we are dealing with, and many of will never know.

I might know a lot of you who fit into the “rare diseases” white ribbon, in which case, I want to make you a ribbon with your specific disease or condition or struggle, and you pick the color. Just drop me a comment, any time, either on this post or on the page I create later on. Post to come soon, hopefully with the first ten or so ribbons that are requested. I might do a poll on ribbon styling too…. it would be my first opportunity to use that option on WordPress!

Happy creative Saturday, friends ❤

I’m glad we all made it. This week felt like it just would not end, and I got next to nothing done. Hopefully this weekend I can shift gears, but I seem to be setting myself back with these big pushes when I get one slightly better day. Just so bored with this!!! I hate tv, so I’ve been trying to entertain myself other ways, and it’s hard! It’s only going to get harder when I ask my doctor for a heart rate monitor to keep track of my energy levels as best I can for a few months. Any time the damn thing beeps, I have to sit down. Doesn’t matter if I’m climbing the stairs, I gotta stop, sit down, record what time it is and what made it go off, and let my heart rate go back to a lower range. It sounds pretty frustrating, but who knows, it could provide me with some much-needed evidence-based data to share with my doctors, or it could provide me with just enough data to teach myself to live within my “energy envelope”. If you want to read more about heart rate monitoring and the logic behind it, check out these articles:

1. http://www.occupycfs.com/exercise-testing-and-results/

2. http://livewithcfs.blogspot.com/2011/02/heart-rate-and-post-exertional-crashes.html

3. http://www.cortjohnson.org/blog/2013/08/13/heart-rate-monitor-program-improves-heart-functioning-in-chronic-fatigue-syndrome-mecfs/

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Jessi Finds Out Fibro

Hi, and thank you for finding your way to my corner of the web! I'm on a journey to empower myself and hopefully others through shared courage and compassion. I write Finding Out Fibro, a chronic illness and chronic pain awareness blog that is not just about fibromyalgia, as well as my main passion and only employment, making jewelry and selling gems and crystals under the Etsy shop name MineralismCrystals. Please check me out at the following URL: mineralismcrystals.etsy.com/ and share if you can! Thank you for your support! My other hobbies include defeating ableism where I find it, upcycling old junk into funky awesomeness, raising my voice to combat stigma against invisible illness and mental illness, baking and collecting vintage kitchen ware, sharing body-positive messages, playing around in photoshop, abstract painting (especially in neons and metallics!), advocating for those living with chronic illnesses and mental health challenges, seeking safety and upholding visibility for LGBTQIA+ individuals, especially those of us living with physical and mental disabilities. This is my opportunity to do more than just survive with chronic illness. This is me learning how to live well, even though there is no cure for the war my body is waging on me.

Leave a comment

Undiagnosed Warrior

Be brave, little fighter. There's a warrior within you.

moderndaywarriorprincess

Because All Women are Princesses & are Stronger Than We Ever Knew

Quinn's Cauldron

Handmade Jewellery and Wiccan Crafts

iamchronic

Writing Through The Tragedy And Terrible Beauty Of A Life In Chronic Pain

No More Silence. Speak Out Against Domestic Violence.

Silence Enables Violence. Find Your Voice.

Hannah's Battle to Breathe

Living with a chronic illness: the ins and outs

highwaytohealingblog.wordpress.com/

"Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one's courage."- Anais Nin

chiaricontinues

chiariwife. chronic pain. awarness.