A Few Newer Art Therapy Paintings

Float by FindingOutFibro
Sinew 2015 by Jessi Chval / FindingOutFibro. Art therapy for chronic pain.
Freckles 2015 by Jessi Chval / FindingOutFibro. Abstract peach, gold and black acrylic painting.
Make Waves by Jessi Chval / FindingOutFibro
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Jessi Finds Out Fibro

Hi, and thank you for finding your way to my corner of the web! I'm on a journey to empower myself and hopefully others through shared courage and compassion. I write Finding Out Fibro, a chronic illness and chronic pain awareness blog that is not just about fibromyalgia, as well as a new project making jewelry under the Etsy name Hopeful Spoon. Please check out the shop and share if you can! Thank you for your support! My other hobbies include defeating ableism anywhere I find it, upcycling old junk into funky awesomeness, raising my voice to erase stigma against invisible illness and mental illness, baking, collecting vintage kitchen ware, sharing body-positive messages, playing around in photoshop, abstract painting (especially in neons and metallics!), advocating for those living with chronic illnesses and mental health challenges, seeking safety and upholding visibility for LGBTQIA individuals living with physical and mental disabilities, researching and testing plant-based remedies for chronic pain, and spending all my spare spoons in my veggie garden. This is my opportunity to do more than just survive with chronic illness. This is me learning how to live well, even though there is no cure for the war my body is waging on me.

3 responses to “A Few Newer Art Therapy Paintings”

  1. abodyofhope says :

    Wow, these are so gorgeous!!! I love that you are painting again, and sharing your work 🙂
    I can see your colorful spirit shining through in the tones you chose. I love how each one is muddled with gritty texture or darker tones- maybe representing parts of your journey. Even after all you have endured, you still shimmer and shine, girl!
    I love them! Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessi Finds Out Fibro says :

      Aw, you made my day! Thank you so much, lovely!
      I have a hard time putting this stuff up because of how simplistic it is… like a little kid did them. But at the same time, I guess I kind of like that I have a style at least. When I was younger and I painted portraits or landscapes, and sketched so easily, I held myself to all these standards and rules, and I have honestly forgotten every last thing I learned about how to paint correctly in various styles and anything about composition… it’s all gone. All I remember is a little bit of color theory. Lately my method is either to rip off an idea I see and love, just winging it and seeing what I can come up with, or I get an idea and sketch it out and then transfer the sketch to the canvas, but that’s pretty damn rare anymore. Freeform for more fun! 🙂 Every time I try to create something I see that intrigues me, I usually end up with something completely different. And sometimes painting ends with horrible failure! lol
      Thank you again, I’ve been struggling with whether or not to post them, but I talk a lot about creativity so I might as well put my money where my mouth is and at least prove I have been up to something. I guess the results are mattering less and less to me, it’s the therapeutic process that I’m getting so much out of anymore. Simple is all I can handle right now, but I’m hoping to work my way back up to some classes to relearn all the stuff I brushed off earlier in life when I should have been paying attention. When it’s possible, you know…

      Thank you for noticing something about them that i hadn’t noticed. I mean, I know I love black, but I hadn’t realized I created a unified theme of any kind. You’re totally right, there’s a lot of dark on there! Which I’m okay with, as long as the other colors get a chance to play too.
      😀
      lots of love and hugs, pretty girl

      Liked by 1 person

      • abodyofhope says :

        I’m so glad you shared them! I know it had to have been super difficult physically to get these done, and that alone is a huge accomplishment! Putting that work in despite how terrible you feel is something to be celebrated. Like you, I was so much better at my art when I was young, so I know how far backward I have slid in the space where life happened. For me, life, love, travel, career, etc. took precedence over practicing and growing in art and design. Now, like you said, it feels like starting from square one in many ways. The brain fried thing definitely doesn’t help!! I’m excited you are letting out your colors you feel and however it flows from you is your therapy. You may have envisioned them differently, but I hope they represent such a big step taking on your artwork again. You are an inspiration to me, and I’ll bet many others who saw your awesome paintings are feeling that urge to pick up a brush!
        I can’t wait to see more 🙂 ❤ ❤ ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Undiagnosed Warrior

Be brave, little fighter. There's a warrior within you.

moderndaywarriorprincess

Because All Women are Princesses & are Stronger Than We Ever Knew

Quinn's Cauldron

The Traditional English Witch, Rowan Quinn

Hypermobility Syndrome India

information and narrative

Lyme & Co

A therapist's journey through Lyme Disease

iamchronic

Writing Through The Tragedy And Terrible Beauty Of A Life In Chronic Pain

No More Silence. Speak Out Against Domestic Violence.

Silence Enables Violence. Find Your Voice.

Hannah's Battle to Breathe

Living with a chronic illness: the ins and outs

