New Site Header

I tried to make a new header and improve my blog’s layout a tiny bit, but I just can’t decide which header image I like the best, out of all the ones I have made. I guess I haven’t knocked my own socks off yet with any of them, so until then this blue beach scene will have to do. Reminds me of the coast in oregon on an especially pretty day, mixed with the hand-painted watercolor cards my grandma used to send on birthdays.

Check it out, tell me what  you think:

findingoutfibrolivewellheader

You can see I did decide to change the wording of my tagline from “survive with chronic pain” to “live well with chronic pain” as I think that’s a better goal for me now, more than a year out from my diagnosis of Fibromyalgia, about a year out from learning that I also had Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, Joint Hypermobility Syndrome, and Spina Bifida Occulta, and about six months into realizing that I haven’t been making as much progress as I would like, because I also need to deal with  several anxiety disorders, including PTSD. It’s been three and a half years since I was in an auto accident that changed my life forever. I no longer am content with “surviving” because it’s not enough, I want to do more than just get through the day. I want to thrive, chronic illness and pain be damned.

Stock-Image-Separator-GraphicsFairy11

Right now I’m really trying to remind myself to just make one or two changes at a time since I have another blog to get off the ground right now and don’t need to be spending so much time over here, but I can’t seem to stay away. At least I’m taking my own advice about making small changes one at a time instead of trying to overhaul the entire theme in one day.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Jessi Finds Out Fibro

Hi, and thank you for finding your way to my corner of the web! I'm on a journey to empower myself and hopefully others through shared courage and compassion. I write Finding Out Fibro, a chronic illness and chronic pain awareness blog that is not just about fibromyalgia, as well as a new project making jewelry under the Etsy name Hopeful Spoon. Please check out the shop and share if you can! Thank you for your support! My other hobbies include defeating ableism anywhere I find it, upcycling old junk into funky awesomeness, raising my voice to erase stigma against invisible illness and mental illness, baking, collecting vintage kitchen ware, sharing body-positive messages, playing around in photoshop, abstract painting (especially in neons and metallics!), advocating for those living with chronic illnesses and mental health challenges, seeking safety and upholding visibility for LGBTQIA individuals living with physical and mental disabilities, researching and testing plant-based remedies for chronic pain, and spending all my spare spoons in my veggie garden. This is my opportunity to do more than just survive with chronic illness. This is me learning how to live well, even though there is no cure for the war my body is waging on me.

15 responses to “New Site Header”

  1. pattyalcala says :

    I like it. It looks fresh and peaceful. Are you feeling better? I hope that is one of the reasons you are changing things up.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessi Finds Out Fibro says :

      Thank you! I will keep it around for a bit and see how I feel about it in a month. I’ve been feeling weak, sick and foggy, so making images has been easier than writing lately. I also think because it’s been a few days of feeling too unwell to do any of the stuff I want to do, I’m starting to get cabin-feverish and needed something to distract myself from the important job of resting and regaining my strength.
      I hope you have been well, and thank you again for the feedback and well wishes! You are such a sweetheart! (((hugs)))

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Josh Wrenn says :

    I like it, and I can definitely see the Oregon coast in it. (One of my favorite places I’ve been, btw.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessi Finds Out Fibro says :

      Thank you so much for the positive feedback!
      Man, isn’t the Oregon coast a special place? I miss seeing it as often as I used to, but I also feel lucky that I ever was able to spend so much time soaking in (hah) the beauty of the Pacific Northwest wilderness before I got sick!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Josh Wrenn says :

        Yeah, the PNW is special. I will always remember my beloved Seattle as the way it was the first time I lived there, before Amazon destroyed it, and before getting my transplant there.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Jessi Finds Out Fibro says :

          Amazon and Starbucks…. and hipsters. Sigh.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Josh Wrenn says :

            And tripled rents and local business pushed out. 😦

            Liked by 1 person

            • Jessi Finds Out Fibro says :

              did you own one of those local businesses? I completely agree, I did this weird thing where I started out living on the west side of portland, about half way between the city and the coast, and then moved into downtown (yuck), then about 50 blocks into the east side of the river, and then finally now I am almost so far east of the river that I am on the border between Portland and Gresham. All because of money. Honestly I don’t mind being forced outside the city due to gentrification. I am not a part of that crowd anyway. I remember being told I didn’t belong here by a transplant in high school and getting all pissed off about it, they said I wasn’t “Portland enough” (for my own city). Yet, every other part of the country I’ve lived in, no matter how much I tried to tone myself down, I was too Portland to fit in. So I guess I have a yes-no relationship with this place, and in the end I don’t think I can live anywhere else. Seattle has become a beast that I avoid at all costs, though. I avoid downtown Portland too, skirting the edges for everything I need and only going through downtown for doctor’s appointments up at OHSU. There are doors slamming shut all over local and small business in the PNW, Olympia is even becoming crowded out by big greedy operations like McMenamins and Harbucks, which I really didn’t see coming for some reason. Ick.
              I stay here for the national parks, the coast line, the mountains that I literally can’t live without, the rainforest, the stars, the wealth of plants that thrive here and the long-enough growing season that we usually enjoy. Hipsters can’t ruin that stuff. 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

            • Josh Wrenn says :

              If I could afford it, I would have stayed. If I ever get enough money, I will go back to the PNW, but live in a smaller town or along the coast. I didn’t own a business, but my brother does. He’s doing well enough, but his costs are shooting up. But the pubs and restaurants and unique things are succumbing to chains and condo buildings.

              Liked by 1 person

            • Jessi Finds Out Fibro says :

              Don’t forget the hundreds of dispensaries setting up shop. Not sure where they have been hiding all their money for so long, but it would be nice if people could buy pot *and* eat a nice meal out at a local restaurant. Seriously. I have watched one family business after another close, sit empty for a while, and then a green cross shoots up in front of it, despite the fact that there are already ten more, right down the street. I’m totally pro-mmj, but I just think it’s short sighted to close all the unique shops so everyone can sell a drug that has done just fine marketing itself without store fronts for decades. Okay, tangent time over. I’m glad your brother is surviving for now though!
              I hope you do get to live the small-town coastal life, someday. It’s a goal of mine, too.

              Liked by 1 person

            • Josh Wrenn says :

              Well I hope you get there too, and yes…how many dispensaries on one block do you need? Especially now that they are totally illegal since recreational has passed. They were supposed to either get one of the licenses and convert, or shut-down. But that hasn’t happened and the stupid liquor control board has been stingy with the licenses and slow with the process. Meanwhile Colorado is making money off of it hand-over-fist. (Wow, I got off on a tangent there too, sorry!)

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Undiagnosed Warrior

Be brave, little fighter. There's a warrior within you.

moderndaywarriorprincess

Because All Women are Princesses & are Stronger Than We Ever Knew

Quinn's Cauldron

The Traditional English Witch, Rowan Quinn

Hypermobility Syndrome India

information and narrative

Lyme & Co

A therapist's journey through Lyme Disease

iamchronic

Writing Through The Tragedy And Terrible Beauty Of A Life In Chronic Pain

No More Silence. Speak Out Against Domestic Violence.

Silence Enables Violence. Find Your Voice.

Hannah's Battle to Breathe

Living with a chronic illness: the ins and outs

