Fall Girl

Apparently my injury from my fall was visible in more way than one, which I am glad I know now. There is a lovely hematoma on my left ribs, and the radiologist is still not sure if I didn’t crack my orbital a little, but nothing more than a hairline fracture if at all. They might call me back for a CT scan this week because of the pressure and migraine I have had. There’s a lot of stuff up there that could be some kind of issue that isn’t visible on X-Ray.
Who knew you were still at risk for weeks after a concussion?! Not this girl.
I guess I am nowhere near the top of the learning curve here, which is okay. That leaves lots of room for improvement, and that’s hopeful.
My doctor recognized how stubborn I am about pain and going to the ER and gave me her cell phone number instead so I can text her with new problems and verify if I actually need to go get help, and so they can call her from the ER and figure out what to do with me. She even gave me painkillers without my asking! They absolutely don’t do anything for the pressure/migraine/spinning/eye issues, but help a good deal with the hematoma pain, although to be honest, I could probably continue to tough that out without anything, but on top of the migraine it’s hard to even smile without a little help. I had to do laundry and ended up sitting on the concrete for twenty minutes, everything spinning, trying not to panic or sob because no one else was home. I’m pretty sure I even put my face on that dirty floor, hoping I could cool off the fire in my head, but don’t tell anyone.

When I went to get my X-Rays and told the girls checking me in what had happened, how long I had held out before going into the doctors for my pain, I ended up with three techs clucking over me because just the twisting and odd movements I had to do for skull and rib X-Rays left me breathless, sweating buckets, and with ice cold hands, arms, feet, and legs. I get so embarrassed when my autonomic issues take hold, and I know I can’t stop it unless I sit or lie down for an extended period of time. I try to push through it, knowing that I never have the time to lie down like that. Soon enough I was back in the car, and my doctor called me with the results from the lab before I even made it home. She is awesome, did I mention that?

I have had zero energy, either cognitively or physically, lately, but am in a much, much better mood. What I have learned is that though my mood plays a role in the aggressiveness of my pain, or my perception of my pain, one of the two, mood doesn’t seem to have much effect on measured pain levels for me compared to the severe level of agony I experience during a flare. Being in a good mood despite severe pain is somewhat of an oxymoron. But it is possible, just not with the expectation that we will be happy 100% of the time.

Having a hematoma this large is a new experience for me, especially in a place you can’t avoid moving and twisting just to roll over in bed! Oh man, does that hurt! And it rolls around my ribs so that the pain can be in my back on just one side, or on both sides, or seeming to emanate from my spine itself.

can't sleep

 

I’m going to buy some cell salts from Hylands, one of the 12 preparations (Calacarea Phosphorica 6X, #2 Hylands 500 Tabs) is supposed to hopefully double my healing time. I have been taking Boiron Arnica 30C Pellets (3 tube pack)
internally, but it does not seem to be working its usual magic on this big ugly bone bruise.

Still wish I knew what I hit when I fell. Then again, I still have my eyes and my teeth, so I will settle for that being a victory considering such an epic fall in the pitch dark!

The lesson in my story is pretty simple, and something I feel most people have a better grasp of than I do: I am still supposed to go to the ER for trauma, even if it doesn’t directly seem to hurt. Even if it’s all too easy to blame fibro or CFS or spine damage and suffer in silence (well, not silence… but as far as my primary care knew), rather than go to a doctor. Especially with head trauma, what you see is not what you get!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Jessi Finds Out Fibro

Hi, and thank you for finding your way to my corner of the web! I'm on a journey to empower myself and hopefully others through shared courage and compassion. I write Finding Out Fibro, a chronic illness and chronic pain awareness blog that is not just about fibromyalgia, as well as a new project making jewelry under the Etsy name Hopeful Spoon. Please check out the shop and share if you can! Thank you for your support! My other hobbies include defeating ableism anywhere I find it, upcycling old junk into funky awesomeness, raising my voice to erase stigma against invisible illness and mental illness, baking, collecting vintage kitchen ware, sharing body-positive messages, playing around in photoshop, abstract painting (especially in neons and metallics!), advocating for those living with chronic illnesses and mental health challenges, seeking safety and upholding visibility for LGBTQIA individuals living with physical and mental disabilities, researching and testing plant-based remedies for chronic pain, and spending all my spare spoons in my veggie garden. This is my opportunity to do more than just survive with chronic illness. This is me learning how to live well, even though there is no cure for the war my body is waging on me.

4 responses to “Fall Girl”

  1. Moongazer says :

    I had no idea you had fallen so badly!! I saw your pics with your black eyes and you mentioned a hematoma but ……..
    I must have read it through brain fog or sleep deprivation 😦
    I am very glad you went to A&E
    An injury is bad enough but falls and jolts always upskittle FM and make it worse too (((hugs)))

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jessi Finds Out Fibro says :

      Don’t you think it’s funny how intuitive spoonies know when someone needs that extra moment of attention, whether or not our foggy brains can always process it? You certainly have that ability, to act with empathy based on certain cues in addition to the words themselves. Which I owe you a hug and a thank you for! ❤ I had family members act with much less empathy, pretty much all of them. And I have a gigantic family! I needed your encouragement, and I hope I am there to return the favor for you when you need it. I love my blogging family. So glad I took the plunge and started to hit publish six months ago, or my life would be so very different right now.
      by the way, 'upskittle' is now my favorite new word in relation to fibro. I just absolutely love that. 🙂
      I too am super glad I went to urgent care eventually, even if it did take me two weeks! Definitely better late than never on this one, though I should have gone right away. Not sure what I or my boyfriend was thinking not getting me in to see someone for the concussion when it happened. I might have noticed the ribs right away if we had done that! Hindsight, and next time. lol, I toughed through it and that feels like its own reward, a little bit, so you were absolutely right the last time we talked!!!
      I hope you and I both start getting longer stretches of quality sleep. It's gonna get better! 🙂
      ((hugs!))

      Liked by 1 person

      • Moongazer says :

        😀
        Sweetheart, you and Lydia were absolutely there for me last week when I had my ‘pain crisis’ that night. I can’t explain how much of a difference you made ((((hugs))))
        And thank you – I’m all *blushy* now 🙂
        But it’s what friends are for and when you connect with someone – for whatever reason – it doesn’t matter how far away they are geographically.
        I love my blogging family too 🙂
        You’ve made me giggle over “upskittle”. I just typed as I thought. It is a good word though 🙂
        I have had 4 nights now of reasonable sleep. It feels like a miracle and today my pain levels are reasonable *massive cheesy grin*. I haven’t done much physically but what I have done was a lot easier.
        Hopefully once your rib area heals your sleep will improve too, especially now you have some meds for pain.
        ((((hugs)))) of the gentle non rib crushing kind 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • Jessi Finds Out Fibro says :

      haha, also, I had no idea I had hurt myself so badly or taken such a hard hit in two places. No idea whatsoever! I joked with the x-ray technician that I was a spoonie badass, and she agreed. I am very fortunate in that my genius nurse practitioner sees everything as one giant interconnected puzzle that she is always trying to solve, and I think she is a very special and amazing individual for that approach. With that method it took her like two minutes of poking my side and looking at my eye bones and how my face was aligned and immediately she could tell me what was going on, before I even got the x-rays. She’s an angel. and so are you!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Undiagnosed Warrior

Be brave, little fighter. There's a warrior within you.

moderndaywarriorprincess

Because All Women are Princesses & are Stronger Than We Ever Knew

Quinn's Cauldron

The Traditional English Witch, Rowan Quinn

Hypermobility Syndrome India

information and narrative

Lyme & Co

A therapist's journey through Lyme Disease

iamchronic

Writing Through The Tragedy And Terrible Beauty Of A Life In Chronic Pain

No More Silence. Speak Out Against Domestic Violence.

Silence Enables Violence. Find Your Voice.

Hannah's Battle to Breathe

Living with a chronic illness: the ins and outs

