Chronic Pain Can’t Take My Creativity!

My grandma was an artist long after she began losing her eyesight. I wish I had one of her paintings to share, as she was a chronic pain warrior too, a fierce one, who raised 10 children on her own after her husband’s death.

I remember being about 13, standing in her kitchen where the last of the day’s light was streaming in, throwing this hazy pink glow onto everything. I watched as she dipped her paintbrush in the soft white that was going to be the main body of the moon, the last tiny part of the painting to be done. Then I watched in horror as the brush fell out of her fingers, which were arthritic and losing some of their dexterity. Loaded with white oil paint, it landed *splat* on the canvas. I almost started crying, I thought she was going to be so upset at all that wasted time, but she was pretty calm. When she picked up the brush, to our surprise, there it was, the moon. Even though it had been created completely on accident, and in an unplanned location, the perfect little circle needed very little touch-up.

Melt 2013 by Jessi Chhval

Melt 2013 by Jessi Chval

Art and creativity happen even when we make “mistakes”. In fact, it happens even more when we fail and learn and try again.

It just takes more creativity to be creative (hah!) when you’re in pain or have limited mobility. I know I have what it takes to retain my artistic sides no matter what, even if it means changing my methods. If my grandma could paint with 10 children, plus a job and chronic pain, I can find the strength to pour my pain and sadness into my art too, where maybe it will do some good.

Give me a shout if you are also a spoonie with a crafty side. I know most of us have to be creative just to get through the day, so that counts too! 😀

Tags: , , ,

About Jessi Finds Out Fibro

Hi, and thank you for finding your way to my corner of the web! I'm on a journey to empower myself and hopefully others through shared courage and compassion. I write Finding Out Fibro, a chronic illness and chronic pain awareness blog that is not just about fibromyalgia, as well as a new project making jewelry under the Etsy name Hopeful Spoon. Please check out the shop and share if you can! Thank you for your support! My other hobbies include defeating ableism anywhere I find it, upcycling old junk into funky awesomeness, raising my voice to erase stigma against invisible illness and mental illness, baking, collecting vintage kitchen ware, sharing body-positive messages, playing around in photoshop, abstract painting (especially in neons and metallics!), advocating for those living with chronic illnesses and mental health challenges, seeking safety and upholding visibility for LGBTQIA individuals living with physical and mental disabilities, researching and testing plant-based remedies for chronic pain, and spending all my spare spoons in my veggie garden. This is my opportunity to do more than just survive with chronic illness. This is me learning how to live well, even though there is no cure for the war my body is waging on me.

2 responses to “Chronic Pain Can’t Take My Creativity!”

  1. Moongazer says :

    I wonder how I haven’t found your blog sooner!
    I will be following from now on. You write so well, and I am a creative/crafting person too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Undiagnosed Warrior

Be brave, little fighter. There's a warrior within you.

moderndaywarriorprincess

Because All Women are Princesses & are Stronger Than We Ever Knew

Quinn's Cauldron

The Traditional English Witch, Rowan Quinn

Hypermobility Syndrome India

information and narrative

iamchronic

Writing Through The Tragedy And Terrible Beauty Of A Life In Chronic Pain

No More Silence. Speak Out Against Domestic Violence.

Silence Enables Violence. Find Your Voice.

Hannah's Battle to Breathe

Living with a chronic illness: the ins and outs

highwaytohealingblog.wordpress.com/

"Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one's courage."- Anais Nin

