Stream of Conscious #1: Morning Cry-Time

When holding a phone to your ear for fifteen minutes is so painful it makes you woozy, and then you have a killer sore throat by the time you’re done talking, you might have a chronic pain condition.
I just want to be productive. This body is a burden not just to the people around me, but to me as well.

I don’t know how many people in their 20’s know what it’s like to lay in bed every single morning, paralyzed by pain, unable to even roll over, and on top of that to wake up as tired as if you had not gone to bed at all. If you do know what I’m talking about, I’m very sorry it happens to you too. I cry uncontrollably for the first hour while I wait for the meds I never wanted to have to take every day to kick in. in order to make it worth my while, I try to cry about everything that needs crying about right then when I first wake up, because then I’m done, I’m done crying until tomorrow morning and it is a huge relief. As long as I cycle through all the things that I am grieving for as I lay in bed trying to make the time pass more quickly till the medicine hits my bloodstream, there will be literally no tears left for the rest of the day, at least not for myself. I can still cry when I hear a sad story about a puppy, I promise I don’t just turn my emotions off after that, although I might come across that way simply because emotions take a lot of energy that I do not have.

It’s so embarrassing to need to be reminded to put shoes on before I leave the house, or to ask my boyfriend to drive me to an appointment I never actually made, to have a horrible hot flash in the middle of a check out line, or to forget to file an appeal for disability. I had 60 days. What is my problem!? I just need so much more support and organization than I have. And I have no strength to go about finding that support.

None of this was planned, not my illnesses, not my boyfriend’ hip surgeries, or losing my future father in law. If Dave were still alive, we could make this work, but he is gone, and we are on our own trying to pick up where he left off as best as we can. We miss you, Dave. It still makes me sad that we never had a service for you. Shock hit us all pretty hard.

About Jessi Finds Out Fibro

Hi, and thank you for finding your way to my corner of the web! I'm on a journey to empower myself and hopefully others through shared courage and compassion. I write Finding Out Fibro, a chronic illness and chronic pain awareness blog that is not just about fibromyalgia, as well as a new project making jewelry under the Etsy name Hopeful Spoon. Please check out the shop and share if you can! Thank you for your support! My other hobbies include defeating ableism anywhere I find it, upcycling old junk into funky awesomeness, raising my voice to erase stigma against invisible illness and mental illness, baking, collecting vintage kitchen ware, sharing body-positive messages, playing around in photoshop, abstract painting (especially in neons and metallics!), advocating for those living with chronic illnesses and mental health challenges, seeking safety and upholding visibility for LGBTQIA individuals living with physical and mental disabilities, researching and testing plant-based remedies for chronic pain, and spending all my spare spoons in my veggie garden. This is my opportunity to do more than just survive with chronic illness. This is me learning how to live well, even though there is no cure for the war my body is waging on me.

Leave a Reply

Undiagnosed Warrior

Be brave, little fighter. There's a warrior within you.

moderndaywarriorprincess

Because All Women are Princesses & are Stronger Than We Ever Knew

Quinn's Cauldron

The Traditional English Witch, Rowan Quinn

Hypermobility Syndrome India

information and narrative

Lyme & Co

A therapist's journey through Lyme Disease

iamchronic

Writing Through The Tragedy And Terrible Beauty Of A Life In Chronic Pain

No More Silence. Speak Out Against Domestic Violence.

Silence Enables Violence. Find Your Voice.

Hannah's Battle to Breathe

Living with a chronic illness: the ins and outs

